Take A Bullet

​Six months since you left
Said you were tired of being with me
Gave me a whole lot of reasons
Reasons I couldn’t fathom nor see

And so two years came to an abrupt end
Dreams smashed to smithereens
“Oh it wasn’t real love for you.
I was just being a stupid teen.”

You moved on with college and friends
Made a life out for yourself
Dumb me sat around moping
Pushed dreams and passions into shelves

Time and again I tried to climb the peak
Landslides kept pushing me down
I could never quite heal myself
Like happiness didn’t want to be found

How do you find it to move on
From the person you once lived your life for?
How do you heal from the hurt
When everything you love turned sour?

What was once beautiful white
Now a sickening shade of black
You might bring it to a dull gray
But the magic will never come back

Watching them moving on from you
While you’re still grieving
You do anything to stay sane
Anything you can do to keep breathing

Like a gunshot slamming into you
The reason for which you can’t quite figure
The person you’d take a bullet for
Is the one pulling the trigger

And you lie there bleeding
Bleeding heavily from the exit wound
Knowing your heart will never be the same
Praying God will take you soon
Picture Courtesy: http://www.gangstersout.blogspot.com

Leave a Reply

