Do You Remember Me?

This was inspired by The Vow, the only romantic movie I’ve loved so far.

 

Do you remember who I am?
The people we used to be
Your eyes look and scrutinise
But I don’t think you really see

Have you forgotten me?
The one always by your side
Never mind the failing love
I shall consider it low tide

Have you forgotten the sacred vows?
The promises at the altar
Hands once clasped tightly together
Have the concrete bonds begun to falter?

I can see you’re not the same anymore
The accident has changed your mind
I can rarely connect with you
Similarities are hard to find

Some days it hurts so bad
The way you look at other men
Because you used to see me the same
Infallible love it was then

But I am not giving up on you
I will bring us back together
No matter what challenges carry us apart
We will find our way back to each other

Because I remember my vows
To love you in all your forms, now and forever
And I’m never letting you go
You’re the woman I’d point “I love her”

No matter how long it takes
No matter the toll it takes on my sanity
I swear to bring us back to what we were
My love for you will always be a surety

 

Leave a Reply

