The Nights

What is it about the nights
That brings everything crashing down?
All feelings culminating to a peak
Tossing and pushing me about

The day goes smooth
Like a boat down a stream
No binds, no chains
Outright set free

Yet past dusk it looms
A large, overbearing shadow
Cloaking my mind in darkness
Running aground my canoe

I cannot run to escape
It tosses me to the ground
Blinds me, disorients me
Losing my perception and sound

I lie here petrified
Eyes painting the ceiling
For what it’s worth
I cannot figure out the meaning

Beware of the shadow
All those with this affliction accursed
For I say this to you
The nights are the worst

 

Picture Courtesy http://www.soundcloud.com

Leave a Reply

