Who I Am: A Sham

Day three hundred thirty two
I do not see me for who I am
How would they react
If they knew I was a sham

Silently I walk among them
My face cloaked in hood
Even after all these days
They have not understood

Eyes placed down
Shoes scrape the road
I shuffle along
Like a car being towed

I walk an enigma
No mysteries revealed
Though my ears are open
My lips are sealed

Some try to pry
But they lose interest
Talk is what I fear
My secrets they will vest

They would turn from me
Shut doors with a slam
If they came to know
All I am is a sham

So my long journey
Continue without a stop
I stay hidden always
Lest this bubble pop

 

Image Courtesy of http://www.gettyimages.ae

Leave a Reply

