Prayer Of The Insomniac

Tossing and turning about
Awake on my bed
Though I implore it
Sleep leaves my head

I chase my sleep
Though many a murky bog
Yet I cannot catch it
It has a cloak of fog

Sometimes it is close
In reach of my hand
But I cannot catch it
Elusive is dreamland

Yet at other times
It is so far off
I cannot see it

Nightmares grab me
Daydreams tempt me
I have no time to
Stop and these wonders see

Oh Lord please
Show me the way
Pull me closer
Don’t push me away

Grant me my prayer
And let me sleep
Let my eyes shut
Open not a peep

Leave a Reply

