Drifting Away From A Friend

What have I done?
I lost a good friend
Could I ever get back?
Could we our friendship mend?

I went away
Didn’t look back
Now I am tortured
My regrets attack

I saw myself drifting away
But didn’t touch the paddle
And now on failure’s horse
I ride side saddle

I want to make amends
For what I’ve done
Walk into another day
Cleansed by the rising sun

Will he ever take me
Once again as a friend?
Or is this it
Of our friendship, the end?

But in the end
All is to be naught
His memory of me
Will forever be an ugly blot

Yet I continue to strive
For I have everything to gain
But if I lose him forever
Silently I will bear the pain

2 comments

Leave a Reply

